The Team

Governors Wales is a democratic organisation and is governed by a Board which determines policies and priorities, monitors progress and standards and oversees the management of its finances.

The Board comprises representatives of Local Governor Associations and similar consultative groups in each education area in Wales. The Board meets on 3 occasions each year in conjunction with the various committees.

The Officers of Governors Wales are elected at the Annual General Meeting.


Officers and Members of the Board are as follows:

Terry O’Marah Flintshire Chair
Hugh Pattrick, MBE Powys Vice-Chair
Alan Speight Newport Treasurer
Allan Tait Torfaen Secretary
Tom Beedle Bridgend
Jeff Bowen Swansea
Arthur Davies Neath Port Talbot
Ivor Gittens Cardiff
Gill Greenland Denbighshire
Derek Havard Caerphilly
John Hill Blaenau Gwent
Anthony Lancett Powys
Laurence Matuszczyk Merthyr Tydfil
Eifion Morgans Ceredigion
Glyn Owen, MBE Gwynedd
Dafydd Treharne Vale of Glamorgan
Leanne Wakerley Monmouthshire
Gary Winston Co-opted member – ADEW Governor Support Officers